Minutes of the AMERICAN LEGION AUXILIARY POST-CONVENTION DEC MEETING (April 27, 2019)

The meeting was called to order by Incoming President Jane Larson at 3:33 p.m.

ROLL CALL

PRESENT:

NATIONAL OFFICERS

National Executive Committeewoman Lisa Williamson Alternate National Executive Committeewoman Penny Mazonna

OFFICERS

President Debbie Lowndes

1st Vice President Jane Larson

2nd Vice President Yvonne Lamm

Secretary Barbara Nath

Treasurer Diana Estrada

Sergeant-at-Arms Lori Fruhwirth

Chaplain Marge Blankenship

Historian Anarene (Ann) Robinson

Executive Committeewoman April Sinclair

Executive Committeewoman Anne Foley

STANDING COMMITTEES

Alaska Girls State Chair Yvonne Lamm

Americanism Chair Sue Waldhaus

Auxiliary Emergency Fund Chair Zona Gregg

Children and Youth Chair Anarene (Ann) Robinson

Community Service Chair Kathy Moore

Constitution and ByLaws Chair Sue Diaz

Distinguished Guests Chair Lisa Williamson

Education and Scholarship Chair April Sinclair

Finance Chair Jane Larson

History Chair Anarene (Ann) Robinson

Junior Activities Chair Danielle Larson

Leadership Chair Colleen Newman

Legislative Chair Marge Blankenship

Membership Chair Yvonne Lamm

National Security Chair Lisa Williamson

Poppy Chair Lori Fruhwirth

Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation (VA&R) Chair Jane Larson

ROLL CALL (continued)

PRESENT:

UNITS

Jack Henry Unit 1 Joseph P. Craig Unit 3

Seward Unit 5

Merlin Elmer Palmer Unit 6

Dorman H. Baker Unit 11

Lynn Canal Unit 12

General Buckner Unit 16

Robert G. Blair Unit 17

George H. Plumley Unit 20

Spenard Unit 28

Muldoon Unit 29

Peters Creek Unit 33

Susitna Valley Unit 35

C. Russell Huber Unit 57

PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Lori FitzSimons

Susan Caswell

Eva Aulston

Carolyn Null

Rehta Foster

Lisa Williamson

Sue Diaz

Margaret Blankenship

Penny Mazonna

Sharon Cherrette

Sue Waldhaus

EXCUSED:

STANDING COMMITTEES

Audit Chair Linda Schmitt

Past Presidents Parley Barbe Wolkoff

PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Linda Schmitt

Beverly Eads

Barbe Wolkoff

Linda Schmitt

ABSENT

STANDING COMMITTEES

Public Relations Chair Lori Wolfe

UNITS

Sitka Unit 13

Matanuska Valley Unit 15

Ninilchik Unit 18

Nome Unit 19

Gladys M Heintz Memorial Unit 27

Con Miller Unit 30

Chappie James Unit 34

Peter Heyano Unit 442

PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Ruth Brown Betty Bumala Laverne Kearns
Evelyn Oliver June Haas Betty Porter
Lavonne Collier Jean Clayton Judy Pusti
Etta Singleton Wilma Stokes Jean Shandy

Jill Pawson Betty Randall Francisca Guilford

Lynn Bash

OPENING CERREMONIES

MOTION: by Sue Diaz (Unit 20) and seconded by Eva Aulston (Unit 1) to dispense with

opening ceremonies.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

There was no Unfinished Business to come before the DEC.

NEW BUSINESS

Incoming President Jane Larson asked for approval of the appointment of Barbara Nath as Secretary and Diana Estrada as Treasurer.

MOTION: by Penny Mazonna (Unit 33) and seconded by Sharon Cherrette (Unit 29) to

approve the appointment of Barbara Nath as Department Secretary and Diana

Estrada as Department Treasurer.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

DEPARTMENT COMMITTEE CHAIR APPOINTMENTS

Incoming President Jane Larson announced the following Committee Chair appointments.

.1. 1. 61.1.6	TT T (TT 1: 22)
Alaska Girls State	` ,
Co-Director	,
Alaska Girls State Board 1 year	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Alaska Girls State Board 2 year	
Alaska Girls State Board 3 year	Danielle Larson (Unit 57)
Americanism	Kathy Moore (Unit 29)
Audit	Sue Diaz (Unit 20)
Auxiliary Emergency Fund	Zona Gregg (Unit 6)
Children and Youth	April Sinclair (Unit 57)
Children and Youth Co Chair	Margaret Clausen-Grimm (Unit 57)
Community Service	
Constitution and Bylaws	Sue Diaz (Unit 20)
Distinguished Guests	Penny Mazonna (Unit 33)
Christmas Gift Project Anchorage	TBD
Christmas Gift Project Fairbanks	Margaret Clausen-Grimm (Unit 57)
Education	
Finance	Sharon Cherrette (Unit 29)
2 nd year member	Barbara Nath (Unit 20)
3 rd year member	TBD
History	April Sinclair (Unit 57)
Junior Activities	Danielle Larson (Unit 57)
Co-Chair	` '
Leadership	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
Legislative	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
Membership	
National Security	` ,
PPP Luncheon	
Poppy	` '
Public Relations	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
Public Relations Electronic Media	` '
VA&R	` '
VA Services to Vets	` ,
Anchorage Deputy	
Fairbanks Deputy	
Kenai Deputy	
Southeast Deputy	
Veterans Gift Shop	
Co-Chair	
Parliamentarian	* *
_ WIIIWIIVIIWIIWII	

MOTION: by Sue Diaz (Unit 20) and seconded by Ann Robinson (Unit 33) to accept the

committee chair appointments.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

PRESIDENT'S POPPY PROJECT AND FUNDRAISER

The President's Poppy Project this year will be a memorial wreath. The winning wreath will be given to the Department of Alaska and used at a variety of activities including the Veterans' Wall and memorial services.

The President's Fundraiser will be a raffle for gas cards. Prices are \$20 per ticket. Prizes will be \$1,000 for first place, \$500 for second place and \$250 for 3rd place.

FALL WORKSHOP

The Fall Workshop will be at Susitna Valley Unit 35. A date of October 5th was given. Sue Diaz (Unit 20) indicated she would not be there for that date.

MOTION: by Yvonne Lamm (Unit 33) and seconded by Lynn McKinnon (Unit 33) to hold

the Fall Workshop on October 5th.

AMENDED

MOTION: by Yvonne Lamm (Unit 33) and seconded by Lynn McKinnon (Unit 33) to set the

actual date of the workshop after discussions between the Auxiliary and the

Legion to determine a date that works for all.

The amended motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

It was announced that the Department Convention next year will also be held at Susitna Valley Post 35.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the DEC, the meeting was adjourned at 3:44 p.m.